JET LAGGED!

a little poem I wrote a few years ago… which is fairly relevant to how I feel this week. Why is it that flying to Europe is not so bad, but flying home to Australia takes so long to adjust to the new time zone???

Well my feet are in Hanoi and they’ve gained a lot of weight;
And my head is in Tallin and it’s feeling very late;
But my kitchen clock says morning and I know it can’t be right…

Oh boy, I’m JET LAGGED!

People call me on the phone, but they think that I’m not home,
coz I’m in a hazy stupor in the bath.
My body feels the cold. God, I must be getting old…
“Just yesterday was hot as hell!” I laugh.
I go to bed at night when the timing is just right,
but I’m up again at midnight until late.
Then I wake at crack of noon… Oh, I’ve got to end this soon!
All my paperwork and practice cannot wait.

Oh girl, you’re JET LAGGED!

Endless queues in endless airports, endless passport checks;
Five kinds of money in my purse: Which coins do I need next?
My groggy head is spinning after 30 hours of flights.
Browsing souvenirs and cheap delights
I lose my bag, “Where is it?” as my flagging focus drops
in Ho Chi Minh airport trinket shops.

Back on the plane, the flight attendant talks to us of seatbelts,
but thankfully, in language I don’t speak.
They feed us beef and fish, when its breakfast that I wish.
Then the lights go off, telling us to sleep.
Young kids turn up the headphones high that dangle round their necks.
On touch screens they play games all night
(glaring screens, doof-doof beats) and NO room for my legs!
On my right, a pointy elbow; ’cross the aisle a snoring bass;
The toilet reeks of covert smoke (a logo says PLEASE DON’T,
but there’s an ashtray just in case!)

Well my feet are in Hanoi and they’ve gained a lot of weight;
And my head is in Tallin and it’s feeling very late;
But my kitchen clock says morning and I know it can’t be right…

Oh god…

I’m JET LAGGED!

© AMNorman 31 July 2006

About anne norman

musician, shakuhachi player, author, poet, tea lover...
This entry was posted in poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to JET LAGGED!

  1. altsoundings says:

    As usual, jet-lagged or not, another great poem Anne.
    With the combination of meter, exasperation & humour … it reminds me of those brilliantly funny English women speaking/singing “Cheap flights, cheap flights, feckin’ cheap flights” on u-tube.
    … Dave M

    Like

Leave a Reply

